Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

The Ken and Ruth Davee Department of Neurology

Clinical Neurophysiology/Epilepsy


The McGaw Medical Center offers ACGME accredited Fellowship programs in Clinical Neurophysiology and in Epilepsy with the option of a 2nd year. There are up to two positions in each program per year. Fellows who complete two years of training will be eligible for both ABPN Boards, in Clinical Neurophysiology and in Epilepsy. 

Adult Fellowship (Program Director: Stephan Schuele)

Pediatric Fellowship (Co-Program Director: John J Millichap)

Fellows are eligible for the American Board of Clinical Neurophysiology (ACNS) examination and for the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN) Clinical Neurophysiology and Epilepsy boards.


Fellows participate in a four week full day neurophysiology course at the beginning of their training covering basic principles and techniques of EEG, EMG/NCS, PSG, IOM/EP and other aspects of clinical neurophysiology. Subsequently, fellows are offered didactic training in Clinical Epilepsy, EEG/IOM, EMG/Neuromuscular and PSG/Sleep through a dedicated weekly lecture series for each of these areas.

The goal of the program is to prepare the fellow for independent practice as a specialist in Clinical Neurophysiology (EEG/Video EEG Monitoring/Intraoperative Monitoring) and/or Clinical Epilepsy.


The fellowship offers ample opportunity in clinical research in several areas of clinical neurophysiology. Projects ideas and updates can be presented at our bimonthly research conference. A full time clinical research associate is available to support the regulatory process, data collection and analysis and publication process.

Fellows are expected to complete at least one research project during their training. They are also expected to present their data at a national meeting and author either an original manuscript, review article or book chapter during their fellowship.

Presentations and publications 2014-2015 (fellows in bold):

Original manuscripts

Gavvala JR, Gerard EE, Macken M, Schuele SU. Seizure ending signs in patients with dyscognitive focal seizures. Epileptic Disord. 2015; 17:255-62.

Kendis H, Baron K, Schuele SU, Patel B, Attarian H. Chronotypes in patients with epilepsy: Does the type of epilepsy make a difference ? Behav Neurol. 2015; 2015:941354. doi:10.1155/2015/941354. Epub 2015 May 21.

Gavvala J, Abend N, LaRoche S, Hahn C, Herman ST, Claassen J, Macken M, Schuele S, Gerard E; Critical Care EEG Monitoring Research Consortium (CCEMRC). Continuous EEG monitoring: a survey of neurophysiologists and neurointensivists. Epilepsia. 2014 Nov;55(11):1864-71.

Sen-Gupta I, Schuele SU, Macken MP, Kwasny MJ, Gerard EE. “Ictal” lateralized periodic discharges. Epilepsy Behav. 2014;36:165-70.

Book Chapters

Templer J, Gerard E, Periodic Complexes – Classification and Examples, In: Critical Care EEG Monitoring, AM Husain and S Sinha, eds., Springer, 2015


  1. Templer J, Gavvala J, Tate M, Raizer J, Schuele S. Factors associated with post-operative seizures after tumor resection with intraoperative cortical stimulation. Abstract submitted. December 2016; Philadelphia, PA; Annual Meeting of the American Epilepsy Society.
  2. Templer J, Gavvala J, Gerard E, Macken M, Narechania A, VanHaerents S, Schuele S. Stereo EEG in the evaluation of unilateral focal periventricular nodular heterotopia. Poster. February 2015; Houston, TX; Annual Meeting of the American Clinical Neurophysiology Society.

Requirements & Eligibility

  1. The ACGME accredited training in CNP or Epilepsy must be preceded by the completion of a residency program in neurology or child neurology accredited in the United States or Canada.
  2. The training must be separate and distinct from all training required for the certification in neurology or child neurology.

Residents are selected for the CNP or Epilepsy fellowship from eligible applicants based upon their preparedness, ability, aptitude, academic credentials, communication skills, and personal qualities. No discrimination is made based upon sex, race, age, religion, color, national origin, disability, or veteran status. Approximately half of the eligible applicants are invited for personal interviews.

Interviews for the Clinical Neurophysiology positions are by invitation only and will take place in February/March for adult fellow candidates and in summer for the pediatric applicants the year prior to start of the fellowship. Please indicate in your application if you are interested in Intraoperative Monitoring/EP, EMG/Neuromuscular Medicine or PSG/Sleep Medicine as second specialty to complement your EEG/Epilepsy training.

Application Process:

Interviews for the Clinical Neurophysiology and Epilepsy positions are by invitation only and will take place in February/March for adult fellow candidates and in summer for the pediatric applicants the year prior to start of the fellowship.

 Click here to Download an Application

Required documents include:

All the required items can be mailed, faxed, or emailed using the following contact information:

For adult applicants:
Erin van Bladel
Fellowship Coordinator
Northwestern University
Department of Neurology
710 N. Lake Shore Drive
Abbott Hall #1113
Chicago, IL 60611
Direct: 312-503-2849
Fax: 312-908-5073

For pediatric applicants:
Clara Samaniego
Pediatric Fellowship Coordinator
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
225 E. Chicago Avenue
Division of Epilepsy, Box 29
Chicago, IL 60611
Direct: 312-227-4527
Fax: 312-227-9644

Stephan U Schuele, MD/MPH
Stephan U Schuele, MD/MPH
Epilepsy Fellowship Director

Jessica Templer, MD
Jessica Templer, MD
Clinical Neurophysiology Fellowship Director

Current Fellows

Yara Mikhaeil-Demo, MD
Medical School: Northwestern University
Residency: Northwestern University

Zehra Husain, MD
Medical School: Wayne State University School of Medicine
Residency: Rush Univeristy Medical Center

Dave Shahani, MD
Medical School: University of Texas, San Antonio
Residency: University of New Mexico

Egidio Spinelli, MD
Residency: University of Alberta

Melissa Cirillo, MD
Residency: Emory University
Fellowship: Northwestern University

Ana Barbara Chelse, MD
Residency: University of Chicago Medical Center
Fellowship: Northwestern University

Housestaff Research Portal

Feinberg has the infrastructure and resources to assist McGaw trainees interested in conducting scientific research. Visit our Housestaff Research Portal to learn more..